Seniors practicing yoga

What are the four parts of Medicare?

Original Medicare, Part A and Part B, covers a lot, 
but not everything.

Medicare Part A and Medicare Part B do not cover:

  • Dental care
  • Routine eye exams & eyeglasses
  • Routine hearing tests
  • Custodial care
  • Long-term care
  • Outpatient drugs
  • Gym memberships
  • Weight management programs
  • Chiropractic services
  • Acupuncture

What is Medicare Part A?

Medicare Part A is hospital insurance, and it’s more than what you think.

Part A covers:

  • Inpatient hospital care
  • Skilled nursing facility care
  • Nursing home
  • Hospice care
  • Surgery
  • Home health care
  • Hospital treatment drugs

What is Medicare Part B?

Medicare Part B is medical insurance, just what the doctor ordered.

Part B covers:

  • Doctor office visits
  • Outpatient care
  • Test and lab services
  • Ambulance and emergency services
  • Medical supplies
  • Certain prescription drugs

Medicare Part C and Medicare Part D

Additional coverage for your Medicare plan.

What is Medicare Part C, or Medicare Advantage?

Medicare Part C is additional healthcare that covers some costs that Original Medicare does not.

Private insurance companies created Medicare Part C, or Medicare Advantage. Part C includes Part A and Part B with some added benefits to cover the gaps. These benefits may include Part D prescription coverage, dental, vision, and fitness programs.

What is Medicare Part D?

Medicare Part D is drug coverage.

Private insurance companies provide Medicare Part D drug coverage for anyone who has Part A, Part B or Part C. Medicare Part D covers many prescription drugs that Medicare Part B does not. In addition, the government requires Part D plans to offer certain drugs.

These drugs are:

  • Anticancer
  • Anticonvulsants
  • Antidepressants
  • Antipsychotics
  • Antiretrovirals
  • Immunosuppressants

Web Content Viewer - Fixed Context

Updated October 1, 2022